Local 2930 - Town of Newington

2017 Municipal Election Update

Members of Bristol Local 2267 helped elect worker-friendly candidates to the Board of Education in 2015.

The 2017 municipal election season is here. The general election day is Nov. 7, 2017.

Getting engaged in the municipal election cycle and electing good pro-labor candidates at the local level will help us continue to fight back against an anti-worker agenda.

It's an opportunity to protect our municipal brothers and sisters from short-sighted cuts made by anti-worker politicians.

Click here for a list of candidates recommended for endorsement by the Council 4 Delegate Assembly. (You can also scroll down for the list.)

The importance of local engagement was evident in Bristol in 2015. Members of Local 2267 (Board of Education non-certified) mobilized to elect a worker-friendly majority that promptly put an end to the costly and failed effort to privatize school cafeteria services. 

Council 4 has geared up for the election through our PEOPLE Committee process, in which member volunteers interviewed prospective candidates and reviewed candidate questionnaires. (Click here for our 2017 candidate questionnaire.)

The Council 4 Delegate Assembly voted to approve endorsement recommendation at separate meetings on Sept. 1 and Oct. 13, 2017.

Want to learn more and get involved with helping to elect good candidates at the local level? Please contact our legislative action team of Brian Anderson at Banderson@council4.org or Zak Leavy at Zleavy@council4.org.

Council 4 Candidate Endorsements - 2017 Municipal Election

First Congressional District:

Ellen Zoppo-Sassu - Mayor
Brittany Barney – City Council
Mary Fortier – City Council, Third District
Greg Hahn – City Council, First District
Peter Kelley – City Council Second District
John Medeiros – City Council, First District

Shonta’ Browdy – Board of Education

Jay Moran – Mayor
Yolanda Castillo –Board of Directors
Pamela Cranford – Board of Directors
Peg Hackett –Board of Directors
Sarah Jones, Board of Directors
Jason Scappaticci –Board of Education
Melanie Stefanovicz – Board of Education
Darryl Thames –Board of Education
Warren Packer – Constable


John Barry – Town Council
Carolyn Futtner – Town Council
Dawn Miceli – Town Council
John Moise – Town Council
Kelly Morrissey –Town Council
Christopher Palmieri – Town Council
Robert Brown –Board of Education
Lisa Cammuso – Board of Education
Zaya Oshana – Board of Education
Dagmara Scalise – Board of Finance

West Hartford:
Ben Wenograd – Town Council

Second Congressional District:

Rosemary Coyle – Colchester Board of Selectmen
Mary Bylone – Board of Education
Nilda Negron – Board of Education
Michael Egan – Board of Finance
James Ford – Board of Selectmen
Michael Hayes – Board of Finance
Denise Turner – Board of Assessment Appeals


Carolyn G. Arabolos –Town Council
Lisa Conant – Town Council
John Hand –Town Council
Sam Norman –Town Council
Joan Lewis –Town Council

Thomas Arnone – Councilor at Large
Timothy Norris – Councilor at Large
Elizabeth Davis – Town Council
Marie Davis – Town Council, District 3
Stephen Niemitz – Town Council, District 1
Timothy Neville – Board of Education
Tina LeBlanc – Board of Education
Sarah Hernandez – Board of Education
Scott Ryder – Board of Education

Antonia Moran – Town Council
Ben Shaiken – Town Council

New London:
Alisha Blake – City Council
Martha Marx – City Council
Jefferey Palmer Hart – Board of Education

Derrel Wilson – Mayor
Samuel Browning – City Council
Stephanie Burnham – City Council
Joseph DeLucia – City Council
Zato Kadambaya – City Council
Robert Phoenix – City Council
Kevin Saythany – City Council

Cathy Osten – First Selectman

James Tedford – Town Council *

Victor Funderburk – Mayor
Dawn Niles – Board of Selectman
Dennis O’Brien – Town Council
Rose Reyes – Board of Selectman

Joshua Steele Kelly – Rep. Town Meeting, Dist 3
Baird Welch-Collins – RTM, Dist 2
Deborah Roselli-Kelly – Board of Education

Third Congressional District:
New Haven:
Kimberly Edwards –Alder
Sal DeCola –Alder
Dolores Colon –Alder
Evelyn Rodriguez –Alder *

Tina Manus – Town Council
Bieu Tran – Town Council

West Haven:
Nancy Rossi – Mayor
David Forsyth – City Council *

Fourth Congressional District:
Wanda Simmons – City Council
Howard Gardner – Board of Education
Joseph Sokolovic – Board of Education

Harry Rilling – Mayor
John Igneri – Council
John Kydes – Council
Tom Livingston – Council
Bill Pappa – Council
Shirley Mosby – Board of Education

Fifth Congressional District:
Al Almeida – Mayor *

Bruce Fontanella – City Council
David Lowell – City Council
Mike Reynolds – City Council

New Britain:
Daniel Salerno – City Council *

Peter Aduba – Mayor *

*= Council 4 AFSCME member

Sign Up
Remember me